Main Content

Two Additional Kentucky Counties Eligible for Public Assistance; Disaster Aid Exceeds $17 Million

Release date: 
April 13, 2012
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved Bath and Adair counties for participation in FEMA’s Public Assistance program, making them eligible to obtain assistance for infrastructure restoration and reimbursement of funds for emergency actions taken during the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding occurring Feb. 29 through March 3. This brings the total number of counties eligible for federal disaster assistance to 23.

Total federal disaster assistance approved for Kentucky survivors of these damaging storms now stands at nearly $17 million.

To date:

  • Over 5,200 Kentuckians in 21 designated counties have contacted FEMA for help or information regarding disaster assistance. 
  • Almost $8.3 million has been approved for Individual Assistance grants, including housing assistance, short-term rental assistance, home repair costs and other needs assistance.
  • Over $1.72 million of the Individual Assistance grants were for Other Needs Assistance, including payments for such eligible disaster-related items as medical and dental expenses, and lost personal possessions.
  •  More than 2,580 homes sustained damages. Of those, more than 671 were destroyed.
  • Almost 3,100 inspections of damaged properties have been conducted.
  • Almost $8.7 million in low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters and businesses has been approved by the Small Business Administration.

In addition to Bath and Adair counties, Kentucky counties eligible for help from FEMA’s Public Assistance program are Ballard, Grant, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Morgan, Pendleton, Trimble and Wolfe. 

Public Assistance is available on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged infrastructure, such as roads, bridges, utilities, schools and similar facilities. Public Assistance is also available to certain private nonprofit agencies and organizations.

Commonwealth counties eligible for Individual Assistance are Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble and Wolfe.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.

Kentucky Emergency Management and FEMA encourage Kentuckians to make sure their friends, neighbors and family members have registered with FEMA for federal disaster assistance by the federal disaster assistance registration deadline of May 7.

Disaster officials stress the importance of returning the SBA loan application survivors may have received as part of their registration package. Completion of the application provides information that may determine eligibility for further federal disaster assistance. The deadline to apply for property damage SBA loans also is May 7. The deadline to apply for economic injury SBA loans is Dec. 6.

There are three ways to register with FEMA for help or information regarding disaster assistance: call 800-621-FEMA (3362), register online at, or register using a tablet or Smartphone by visiting Help is available in many languages.

Disaster applicants who use TTY should call 800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service should call 800-621-3362. Lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time, every day.

Kentucky Emergency Management urges anyone who has storm damage to their residence or other property to document the damage by photographing or videoing it and to maintain a list of any repairs and keep repair receipts. If survi...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: