Main Content

FEMA Aid to Kentucky Tornado Recovery Exceeds $7 Million

Release date: 
March 23, 2012
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved more than $7 million for survivors of the recent severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding occurring Feb. 29-March 3, 2012.

“Funds are being quickly provided to survivors in the Commonwealth so they can begin their recovery as soon as possible,” said Libby Turner, federal officer in charge of the Kentucky recovery. “Our outreach teams are also on the ground in home improvement stores in impacted areas advising residents in the best ways to rebuild safer, stronger and smarter to minimize damages in future severe weather events.”

To date:

  • Approximately 4,400 survivors in 21 designated counties have contacted FEMA for help or information regarding disaster assistance. Many people have sought housing assistance from FEMA because their primary residence has been damaged or destroyed.
  • More than $5.2 million has been approved for housing assistance, including short-term rental assistance and home repair costs.
  • More than 2,200 homes sustained damages. Of those, more than 650 were destroyed.
  • Approximately 1,200 households have received FEMA grants to help pay for temporary housing.
  • Approximately 2,400 inspections of damaged properties have been conducted.
  • More than $900,000 in low-interest disaster loans has been approved by the Small Business Administration.
  • Approximately $1.2 million has been approved to cover other essential disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses and lost personal possessions.
  • Nine disaster recovery centers are open for survivors to get information on disaster assistance programs and help them apply for aid.
  • More than 1,900 visits have been made to disaster recovery centers.

The 14 counties in Kentucky currently eligible for Public Assistance are Ballard, Grant, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Morgan, Pendleton, Trimble and Wolfe. Public Assistance is available to local governments on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged infrastructure, such as roads, bridges, utilities, schools and similar facilities.

The 21 counties in Kentucky are currently eligible for Individual Assistance are Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble and Wolfe. Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.

More than 250 volunteer agencies rushed to aid Kentucky following the storms that tore across the Commonwealth. FEMA helps match volunteers with storm-damaged areas where help is needed.

Mitigation specialists are offering free information and answering questions about rebuilding at home improvement stores in five Commonwealth counties.

Survivors who receive a letter from FEMA that says more information is needed to determine their eligibility for federal disaster assistance should read it carefully. If a survivor gets a letter requesting more information or informing them of a decision they disagree with, FEMA urges them to call the FEMA helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362) and to file an appeal.

Survivors who received an application from the U.S. Small Business Administration for a low-interest disaster loan must complete and return it as soon as possible. No survivor is required to accept a loan, but they must return a completed application to be considered for additional FEMA assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:54
State/Tribal Government or Region: