Main Content

Albemarle and King George Counties Now Eligible for Federal Assistance

Release date: 
February 2, 2012
Release Number: 

Midlothian, VA -- The Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that Albemarle and King George counties are now eligible for Individual Assistance (IA) as part of Virginia's federal earthquake disaster declaration. Under the Individual Assistance program homeowners, renters and business owners in these counties are now eligible for assistance to help them recover from the earthquake.

Disaster officials urge individuals in these counties who suffered damages from the earthquake and subsequent aftershocks that shook Virginia between Aug. 23 and Oct. 25 to register with FEMA. Residents need to be aware that notifying county officials of earthquake damage does not register their damage with FEMA. Residents with earthquake damage must contact FEMA directly to register for disaster assistance.

The deadline for registration is March 5, 2012.

Residents with earthquake damage may register with disaster specialists by calling the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 1-800-462-7585, if you use 711-Relay or Video Relay Service (VRS) call 1-800-621-3362 or go online to Phone lines are open 7 a.m.-10 p.m. EST, seven days a week, or apply online anytime.

Residents may also apply for federal assistance directly through their web enabled mobile phone devices or smartphones. Registration through the mobile site is accomplished by going to and clicking on "Apply Online for FEMA Assistance." 

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.  Also low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and businesses losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Counties also designated are Culpeper, City of Fredericksburg, Fluvanna, Goochland, Louisa, Orange and Spotsylvania.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:13