Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers in Louisa County and Spotsylvania County to Close

Release date: 
February 1, 2012
Release Number: 

Midlothian, VA -- The Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) in Louisa County at 520 E. Main St., Louisa, VA, and in Spotsylvania County at 8960 Courthouse Rd., Spotsylvania, VA, will close permanently at 6:00 PM, Saturday, February 11, state and federal officials have announced.

One-on-one assistance is still available.

Survivors may continue to speak with disaster specialists to register and to check the status of their application by calling the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 1-800-462-7585, if you use 711-Relay or Video Relay Service (VRS) call 1-800-621-3362 or go online to Phone lines are open 7 a.m.-10 p.m. EST, seven days a week, or apply online anytime at

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) opened the centers following the Presidential Disaster Declaration for the Virginia earthquake on August 23, 2011.

Deadline to register for assistance is March 5.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:13