Main Content

Do I Qualify for FEMA Individual Assistance?

Release date: 
November 18, 2011
Release Number: 

SAN JUAN, PR -- Survivors affected by Tropical Storm María living in the municipalities of Juana Díaz, Naguabo and Yabucoa may qualify for individual disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Government of Puerto Rico.

“We want to ensure that any eligible survivor receives the disaster assistance necessary to start recovering”, said Justo Hernández, FEMA’s Federal Coordinating Officer. “If you have not applied yet, do it quickly”.

Survivors of Tropical Storm María should apply for assistance by calling 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA), accessing, or via mobile phone application Those with speech or hearing disability may call (TTY) 1-800-462-7585.

Disaster assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property loss and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

This assistance is money or direct assistance to individuals, families and businesses in an area whose property has been damaged or destroyed and whose losses are not covered by insurance. It is meant to help with critical expenses that cannot be covered in other ways. This assistance is not intended to restore your damaged property to its original condition before the disaster.

“Our communities will recover faster if survivors apply for disaster assistance promptly” said the Governor’s Authorized Representative, Juan Carlos Pavía.  

On October 18, 2011, President Obama granted a federal disaster declaration making individuals and families affected by Tropical Storm Maria in Juana Díaz, Naguabo and Yabucoa, eligible to apply for disaster assistance.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and  first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:53
State/Tribal Government or Region: