Main Content

Baltimore County and the City of Baltimore Included in Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
October 24, 2011
Release Number: 

REISTERSTOWN, Md. -- Maryland Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal aid has been made available to support local recovery efforts in Baltimore County and the City of Baltimore as a result of Hurricane Irene.

These jurisdictions were added to the September 16, 2011 Public Assistance disaster declaration, which included Calvert, Caroline, Cecil, Charles, Dorchester, Harford, Kent, Queen Anne’s, Somerset, St. Mary’s, Talbot, Wicomico, and Worcester Counties.

State and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in these jurisdictions are eligible to apply for funding for emergency services related to the disaster, debris removal and repair or replacement of damaged roads, bridges, buildings, utilities, recreation areas and other public facilities.

Under the cost-share program, FEMA funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:49
State/Tribal Government or Region: