Main Content

Chemung County Now Eligible for Individual Assistance

Release date: 
September 20, 2011
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- State and federal officials have announced that one additional county is now eligible to receive disaster assistance designed to help affected individuals and local governments recover from flooding caused by Tropical Storm Lee.

Individual Assistance (IA) is now available in Chemung County. Storm survivors may apply for temporary housing assistance and housing repair; U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)
low-interest disaster loans for individuals, renters and businesses to repair or replace damaged property; disaster unemployment assistance; and grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs. 

Counties previously declared eligible for IA after Tropical Storm Lee are Broome, Chenango, Delaware, Otsego, Schenectady and Tioga.

Hurricane Irene made landfall in New York State before Tropical Storm Lee, causing widespread flooding and triggering a major disaster declaration.

The 28 counties previously declared eligible for IA after Hurricane Irene are: Albany, Bronx, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Herkimer, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, Orange, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, Washington and Westchester.

Tropical Storm Lee and Hurricane Irene survivors should register for disaster assistance as soon as possible by calling the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621- 3362, TTY 1-800-462-7585.  Multilingual assistance is available by phone. The toll-free line is open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET, seven days a week until further notice.Those who suffered losses or damages caused by both storms should apply for assistance for each storm separately.

Applicants can also register online at or with a web-enabled mobile device or smartphone at Follow the link to "apply online for federal assistance."

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:54
State/Tribal Government or Region: