Disaster Recovery Center Re-Opens in Douglas County

Main Content
Release date: 
September 7, 2011
Release Number: 

LINCOLN, Neb. -- A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) operated by the state of Nebraska, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), is scheduled to re-open at 1 p.m. Thursday in Douglas County to assist those affected by recent flooding.

The DRC will be at the Omaha-Douglas Civic Center, 1819 Farnam St., Omaha, NE 68183, for three days:

  • Thursday, Sept. 8, from 1 p.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Sept. 9, from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Saturday, Sept.10, from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Counties designated for assistance to individuals are Boyd, Burt, Cass, Dakota, Dixon, Douglas, Knox, Sarpy and Washington. Flood survivors may visit any DRC location for assistance. Future DRC locations will be announced as they are scheduled.

Before visiting a center, people with flood-related losses should register with FEMA even if they have applied for assistance with the USDA, filed a claim with the U.S. Corps of Engineers, received assistance from local voluntary agencies, or have called the NEMA flood hotline to report their damage.

Register with FEMA by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov. Help is available in most languages. Those with speech or hearing disability may call (TTY) 800-462-7585. Persons affected by the floods also may apply for federal assistance through a web-enabled mobile device or smartphone. Visit m.fema.gov and follow the link to "apply online for federal assistance."

Have the following information ready when you call to register:

  • Social Security number
  • Current and pre-disaster address
  • Description of losses caused by disaster
  • Contact information where FEMA can reach you
  • Total household income
  • Insurance information
  • Banking information (including account number if you want direct fund deposits)

The Disaster Recovery Centers are staffed by experts from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) providing loan information for individuals, renters and businesses, as well as other agencies. They will explain disaster assistance programs and help flood survivors.

For small businesses, SBA offers Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) to help meet working capital needs caused by the disaster. EIDL assistance is available regardless of whether the business suffered any property damage.

SBA applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA's secure website at disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA's Customer Service Center by calling SBA toll-free at 800-659-2955, or (TTY) 800 -877-8339, emailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov, or visiting SBA's Web site at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top