Disaster Recovery Center Opens in North Sioux City

Main Content
Release date: 
August 30, 2011
Release Number: 

PIERRE, S.D. -- A federal/state Disaster Recovery Center for people affected by this year's floods will open in North Sioux City on Wednesday.

"The key is to first register with FEMA," said Mark Neveau, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency's operation in South Dakota. "Then come to the Disaster Recovery Center to meet face to face with people who can help you fill out an application for a loan from the Small Business Administration, plan how to rebuild more safely, check on the status of your case and find out about a wide variety of other aid."

The Disaster Recovery Center will be at 1246 River Road in North Sioux City, 57049 (next to a Taco John's in a strip mall) until further notice. Hours will be 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. through Friday of this week, and beginning on Tuesday after Labor Day the hours will be 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Mondays through Fridays and 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturdays. The center will be closed Saturday, Sunday and Monday on Labor Day weekend.

"State agencies at the Disaster Recovery Center can help with housing, unemployment assistance, health and a wide variety of other issues," said Kristi Turman, the State Coordinating Officer and head of the South Dakota Office of Emergency Management. "Register with FEMA, then come to the recovery center for help recovering in the fastest, smartest way possible."

State organizations that will also be represented at the Disaster Recovery Center include the Department of Labor and Regulation (for those whose jobs were affected), the Department of Social Services, the Department of Health, the South Dakota Housing Development Authority, and the South Dakota Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster.

Those who had damage, lost income or suffered injuries because of the flooding from March 11, 2011 through July 22, 2011 are encouraged to register with FEMA first, as that is the first step to getting disaster aid. Registering means contacting FEMA directly and getting a registration number. Previous contacts with FEMA or emergency officials, or calling the state flood hotline, do not register anyone with FEMA. People and businesses can register by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 800-462-7585, or going online at www.disasterassistance.gov. The toll-free line will be in operation from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. CDT seven days a week until further notice.

Persons affected by the floods can also apply for federal assistance through a web-enabled mobile device or Smartphone by going to m.fema.gov and following the link to apply online for federal assistance and other recovery help.

The Disaster Recovery Center is open to everyone, and state and voluntary agencies may be able to provide assistance to a wide variety of flood survivors. However, under the disaster declaration only residents and business owners in Charles Mix, Hughes, Stanley and Union counties are eligible for federal disaster assistance, and more than 750 households have already registered with FEMA.

Officials advise applicants to have the following information available when applying for assistance:

  • Current telephone number
  • Address at the time of the disaster and current address
  • Social Security number
  • A general list of damages and losses
  • If insured, the name of the company, agent, and policy number
  • Bank account and routing number for direct deposit of funds if you become eligible

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top