Main Content

Public Assistance Applicant Briefings Set for 11 Counties

Release date: 
August 12, 2011
Release Number: 

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. -- Minnesota Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials announced today that Public Assistance applicant briefings are scheduled Aug. 15-17 for Kandiyohi, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Pine, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Stearns and Yellow Medicine counties.

The briefings will be held to help representatives from state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations apply for federal disaster assistance to support recovery from severe storms, flooding and tornadoes July 1-11, 2011.

Officials will explain the FEMA Public Assistance program for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration or replacement of public facilities or infrastructure that were damaged. Under the cost-share program, FEMA Public Assistance funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work.

Monday, Aug. 15
Pine County

Time: 10:30 a.m.
Pine County Court House
County Board Room
635 Northridge Dr. NW
Pine City, Minn. 56063

Stearns County
Time: 2:30 p.m.
Melrose City Hall
225 1st. St. NE
Melrose, Minn. 56352

Tuesday, Aug. 16
McLeod, Meeker and Kandiyohi counties
Time: 10 a.m.
Meeker County Courthouse
Basement - Community Room
325 N. Sibley Ave.
Litchfield, Minn. 55355

Redwood and Renville counties
Time: 2 p.m.
Redwood County Courthouse
Basement Meeting Room
250 S. Jefferson
Redwood, Minn. 56283

Wednesday August 17
Lincoln and Pipestone counties

Time: 10 a.m.
Tyler Fire Department
230 N Tyler
Tyler, Minn. 56178

Lyon and Yellow Medicine counties
Time: 1:30 p.m.
Lyon County Law Enforcement Center
611 West Main St.
Marshall, Minn. 56258

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:42
State/Tribal Government or Region: