Main Content

Three More Counties Added to South Dakota Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
August 11, 2011
Release Number: 

PIERRE, S.D. -- The counties of Brule, Gregory and Lyman have been added to the federal disaster declaration originally signed on May 13, 2011, Governor Dennis Daugaard and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today. This designation will allow FEMA to reimburse state and local governments for damages to public infrastructure in those counties caused by the spring flooding from March 11, 2011, through July 22.

In total, 40 South Dakota counties are now eligible for FEMA Public Assistance funding.

"Every county we add means more money for local governments," said Governor Daugaard. "Every dollar and every fixed road and bridge means another step on the road to recovery."

Previously, FEMA Public Assistance was made available to state, local and tribal governments and certain private nonprofit agencies in the following South Dakota counties: Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Buffalo, Butte, Charles Mix, Clark, Clay, Codington, Day, Deuel, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Hughes, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Marshall, Miner, Moody, Perkins, Potter, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Stanley, Sully, Union and Yankton.

"We will be here as long as it takes to help with every bit of aid we are authorized to give," said Federal Coordinating Officer Mark Neveau. "Now we can help with three more counties. Money for roads and other infrastructure will help South Dakotans get where they want to go in more ways than one."

Under FEMA's Public Assistance program, FEMA funds at least 75 percent of the cost of eligible work by local governments and certain private nonprofits. The State of South Dakota will contribute an additional 10 percent of the eligible costs. Applicants contribute 15 percent of eligible costs. In addition, federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation efforts in all counties in the state.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: