Main Content

FEMA to Pay 90 Percent of Public Assistance Costs

Main Content
Release date: 
August 8, 2011
Release Number: 

BISMARCK, N.D. - Disaster recovery officials announced today that President Obama has approved Governor Jack Dalrymple's request for the federal government to reimburse 90 percent of the eligible costs to repair or restore infrastructure damaged by spring floods in North Dakota. The change comes at the discretion of the president after disaster damages have exceeded a per capita threshold in the state.

Under the Public Assistance program, a presidentially declared disaster area normally may be eligible for a 75 percent reimbursement of the cost of repairing or restoring damaged infrastructure. This program may include debris removal, approved costs of emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement and restoration of disaster-damaged public facilities, such as roads and bridges, buildings, parks, water control facilities and utilities.

The counties included in the disaster declaration are: Barnes, Benson, Billings, Bottineau, Burke, Burleigh, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Divide, Eddy, Foster, Grand Forks, Grant, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Sioux, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, Wells, and Williams. Also included in the Public Assistance declaration are Fort Berthold Indian Reservation, Spirit Lake Nation, the portion of Standing Rock Reservation in North Dakota and Turtle Mountain Indian Reservation.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: