Main Content

Craig and Nowata Counties Added to Oklahoma Declaration

Release date: 
August 5, 2011
Release Number: 

DENTON, Texas -- Government entities and certain non-profit organizations in Craig and Nowata counties may now seek reimbursement for expenses they incurred due to the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred May 22-25. The expenses include emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Delaware, Grady, Jefferson, Kingfisher, LeFlore, Logan, Major, McClain and Osage counties were already designated for Public Assistance under the disaster declaration signed by President Obama on June 6.

Governmental entities, such as cities, counties, school districts, and non-profit organizations should contact Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management for information on how to apply for assistance.

"We're glad to see that these two counties have been added" said Director of the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) Albert Ashwood. "The damages from the storms were costly."

"Emergency work and repair costs can be overwhelming," said Federal Coordinating Officer (FCO) William J. Doran III. "We want to help in any way we can."

All counties in the state are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

The June 6 disaster declaration also included Individual Assistance for homeowners, renters and business owners in Caddo, Canadian, Delaware, Grady, Kingfisher, Logan, McClain and Ottawa counties. Residents in these counties may apply for disaster assistance by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech impaired. To apply online, go to

The deadline to register for assistance under the Individual Assistance program is close of business Friday, August 5.

So far under the Individual Assistance Program:

  • Some 1,006 Oklahomans have contacted FEMA to Register for assistance
  • $2,426,448 has been approved under the Housing Assistance Program
  • $635, 135 has been approved under the Other Needs Assistance Program
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved loans totaling $7,901,1800

SBA offers low-interest, federal disaster loans for homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private, nonprofit organizations for their uncompensated losses. Homeowners may borrow up to $200,000 to repair or replace their primary residence. Homeowners and renters may borrow up to $40,000 to replace personal property. Businesses may borrow up to $2 million to repair or replace their property damage and/or economic losses.

SBA disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA's Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955, or visiting SBA's website at Hearing impaired individuals may call (800) 877-8339.

Applicants may also apply online using SBA's Electronic Loan Application (ELA), via SBA's secure website at

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: