Main Content

One Week Remains To Register For Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
August 2, 2011
Release Number: 

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Survivors of the recent severe storms, tornadoes and flooding have one week to register for federal disaster assistance.

Those who experienced damage or loss must apply for help by Tuesday, Aug. 9.

Register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency for disaster aid by calling

800-621-FEMA (3362) 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local timeThe TTY number is 800-462-7585.  Online, go to or by smartphone or tablet to

When applying, it is helpful to have the following information ready:

  • The address of the affected property;
  • A brief description of the damage;
  • A current mailing address;
  • Social Security number;
  • Insurance information, including policy numbers;
  • A contact number or alternate such as a cell phone or work number.

Those registering with FEMA may receive a loan application from the Small Business Administration.  SBA applications should be completed and returned by Tuesday, Aug. 9.  Survivors do not have to borrow money, but they may be eligible for additional FEMA grants if they are not qualified for an SBA disaster loan.

For more information about the SBA disaster loan program, call the SBA customer service center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for persons who are deaf or hard of hearing) Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. EDT or by sending an email to  Loan application forms can be downloaded from  Completed applications should be mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76115.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: