Main Content

President Declares A Major Disaster For Kansas

Release date: 
July 29, 2011
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to Kansas and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, and flooding during the period of May 19 to June 4, 2011.

Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, and flooding in the counties of Barton, Clay, Cloud, Hamilton, Jewell, Lincoln, Logan, Lyon, Marion, Mitchell, Morton, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Republic, Riley, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Stanton, and Washington.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Bradley Harris has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.  Harris said that additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments. 

Follow FEMA online at,  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at

The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications. 

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Last Updated: 
March 29, 2016 - 20:05
State/Tribal Government or Region: