Main Content

Federal Disaster Aid to Kentucky Tops $21 Million for Storms

Release date: 
July 27, 2011
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Since being designated for federal disaster assistance May 19, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the Commonwealth of Kentucky have approved $21,033,185 in assistance to Kentuckians affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding from April 12 to May 20.

FEMA has approved more than $8.4 million in Individual Assistance (IA) and $865,816 in Other Needs Assistance (ONA) as part of the ongoing recovery efforts for residents of 22 Commonwealth counties. The IA funds help residents repair their damaged homes and find temporary housing following the disaster. The ONA funds assist with expenses such as medical bills, funeral costs, and moving and storage fees.

The SBA has approved loans totaling more than $3.9 million for individuals and businesses.

Nineteen of the 22 counties also were designated for Public Assistance, FEMA's program that helps fund the repair, restoration, reconstruction or replacement of public facilities damaged or destroyed during the storms. To date, $8,656,820 has been obligated to Commonwealth and local governments in those 19 counties.

To date:

  • 2,026 Kentuckians in designated counties have registered for FEMA Individual Assistance.
  • 1,108 applicants have been approved for aid as of July 14.
  • $7,598,949 has been approved for housing assistance.
  • $865,816 has been approved for Other Needs assistance.
  • 1,669 inspections of damaged properties have been conducted.
  • 1,305 U.S. Small Business Administration loan applications have been issued.
  • $3,911,600 in SBA loans have been approved for 81 applicants.
  • 58 Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) claims have been approved for $40,080 by the Kentucky Education and Workforce Cabinet, Office of Employment and Training.

The counties included in the May declaration are: Ballard, Boyd, Carlisle, Carroll, Crittenden, Daviess, Floyd, Fulton, Graves, Hardin, Henderson, Hickman, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Pike, Union and Webster.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:53
State/Tribal Government or Region: