Main Content

Pettis County Residents Have Until July 14 to File For Disaster Unemployment Benefits

Release date: 
June 20, 2011
Release Number: 

Columbia, Mo. -- Survivors who live or work in Pettis County may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits under the Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) program activated by the state's May 9, 2011, presidential disaster declaration.

Applications must be filed by July 14, 2011, to be considered for benefits.

Income compensation under DUA is extended to self-employed civilians, farm workers, individuals who have worked for only a few weeks, and others who have lost earned income or whose income has been interrupted as a result of a major disaster. The benefits cover those usually not entitled to unemployment insurance.

"This is not regular unemployment compensation, but a program to help people who lost their jobs or cannot work because of the disaster," said Federal Coordinating Officer Libby Turner, the federal official in charge of the Missouri disaster recovery.

Individuals who may be eligible for DUA may call (800) 788-4002 for more information. Claims may be filed at one of four regional claim centers:

Jefferson City RCC
Local Calling area 573-751-9040
Outside local calling area 800-320-2519

Kansas City RCC
Local Calling area 816-889-3101
Outside local calling area 800-320-2519

Springfield RCC
Local Calling area 417-895-6851
Outside local calling area 800-320-2519

St. Louis RCC
Local Calling area 314-340-4950
Outside local calling area 800-320-2519

Applicants need to provide proof of past earnings, such as business records or bank statements and their most recent income tax statement, at the time they file their claim.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

FEMA's temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with a speech disability or hearing loss who use a TTY call 1-800-462-7585; or use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) to call 1-800-621-3362.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: