Main Content

Unemployment Assistance Available For Storm, Tornado Survivors

Release date: 
May 26, 2011
Release Number: 

Columbia, Mo. -- Missourians who live or work in the 15 counties under the state's May 9, 2011 Presidential Disaster Declaration may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits under the Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) program. Applications must be filed by the deadlines to be considered for benefits. 

Income compensation under DUA is extended to self-employed civilians, farm workers, individuals who have worked for only a few weeks, and others who have lost earned income or whose income has been interrupted as a result of a major disaster. The benefits cover those usually not entitled to unemployment insurance.

The deadline to register for the 26-week DUA program differs by a week depending on the county in which an applicant lives. Individuals affected by Missouri's first round of storms and flooding in April, have until June 16, 2011, to register. The counties included under this deadline are Butler, Mississippi, New Madrid, St. Louis, and Taney.

The following 10 counties were added to the Presidential Declaration after a second bout of storms and tornadoes hit the state: Cape Girardeau, Howell, Jasper, McDonald, Newton, Pulaski, Ripley, Scott, Stoddard and Stone. Applicants who were affected in these counties may apply for benefits through June 22, 2011.

"This is not regular unemployment compensation, but a program to help people who lost their jobs or cannot work because of the disaster," said Federal Coordinating Officer Libby Turner, the FEMA official in charge of the Missouri disaster recovery.

Individuals who may be eligible for DUA can call (800) 462-7585 for more information. Claims may be filed at one of four Regional Claim Centers:

Jefferson City RCC
Local Calling area 573-751-9040
Outside local calling area 800-320-2519

Kansas City RCC
Local Calling area 816-889-3101
Outside local calling area 800-320-2519

Springfield RCC
Local Calling area 417-895-6851
Outside local calling area 800-320-2519

St. Louis RCC
Local Calling area 314-340-4950
Outside local calling area 800-320-2519

Applicants need to provide proof of past earnings, such as business records or bank statements and their most recent income tax statement, at the time they file their claim.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:43
State/Tribal Government or Region: