Main Content

Apply For Assistance Even If You Have Insurance

Release date: 
May 25, 2011
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. ?-- Disaster assistance often provides benefits not covered by insurance. That is why Georgia residents affected by the April 27 and 28 severe storms are urged by Georgia Emergency Management Agency (GEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to apply for assistance even if they have insurance.

“We want everyone who is eligible for assistance to receive help as soon as possible,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Gracia Szczech of FEMA. “Even if you are insured, don’t miss out on possible disaster recovery funds. Register now and we’ll let you know if you qualify for one or more of the disaster programs that are helping survivors recover.”

Disaster assistance can include grants to help pay for:

  • Temporary housing, emergency home repairs and rental assistance
  • Medical, dental and funeral expenses
  • Repairing wells and septic tanks
  • Essential personal property
  • Transportation
  • Miscellaneous immediate need items

In addition, low-interest disaster loans are available from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for homeowners and renters as well as for business owners.

“Call to register with FEMA now,” said State Coordinating Officer Charley English. “Then call FEMA again after you receive your insurance settlement to update your information.”

By law, FEMA cannot duplicate what insurance already covers, and it cannot pay deductibles. If, however, a settlement does not cover all eligible losses, disaster assistance may be available to cover the difference.? Applicants will be asked to submit proof of the insurance settlement.

Applicants can call the FEMA toll-free registration number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for individuals with speech or hearing disabilities. Lines are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily.? Residents also can register online at 24 hours a day.

Registration can also be done online at or on a smart phone and other mobile devices at

Residents of the following counties are eligible for individual disaster assistance: Bartow, Catoosa, Cherokee, Coweta, Dade, Greene, Habersham, Harris, Heard, Floyd, Gordon, Lamar, Lumpkin, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Spalding, Troup and Upson, Walker and White.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: