Main Content

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available

Release date: 
May 17, 2011
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. – Mississippians who live or work in 40 counties and became unemployed because of the floods, storms or tornadoes may qualify for disaster unemployment assistance. This program helps people who don't qualify for standard unemployment compensation programs, such as the self-employed, farmers and seasonal workers.

Twenty-nine counties were designated for individual assistance from the storms, tornadoes and related flooding that occurred April 15-28.  A second declaration was issued May 11 and provided for assistance to residents in 14 counties affected by the Mississippi River flooding.  Three of the counties – Coahoma, DeSoto and Tunica -- were named in both declarations.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance may extend income compensation to self-employed civilians, farm workers, individuals who have worked for only a few weeks, and others who have lost earned income or whose income has been interrupted as a result of a major disaster declared by the President of the United States.  Those who have lost the sole breadwinner in their household may be eligible for unemployment benefits.  The benefits cover those usually not entitled to unemployment insurance.

Individuals applying for DUA need to provide proof of past earnings, such as business records or bank statements and their most recent income tax form, at the time they file their claim.

Counties currently designated for assistance to individuals are: Adams, Alcorn, Attala, Bolivar, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Claiborne, Clay, Coahoma, DeSoto, Greene, Grenada, Hinds, Humphreys, Holmes, Issaquena, Jasper, Jefferson, Kemper, Lafayette, Leflore, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Newton, Panola, Quitman, Sharkey, Smith, Sunflower, Tishomingo, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Webster, Wilkinson, Winston and Yazoo.

The following counties have a June 1, 2011, deadline for filing for DUA because of the damages from the storms, tornadoes and related flooding that occurred April 15-28: Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Greene, Hinds, Jasper, Kemper, Lafayette, Monroe, Neshoba, and Webster.

The following counties have a June 10, 2011, deadline for filing for DUA because of the damages from the storms, tornadoes and related flooding that occurred April 15-28: Leflore, Marshall, Montgomery, Newton, Panola, Quitman, Smith, Sunflower, Tishomingo, Tunica, Winston, Alcorn, Attalla, Clay, Coahoma, Desoto, Grenada and Holmes...

Disaster Unemployment Assistance is also available to those affected by the flooding Mississippi River and its tributaries.  The Mississippi Department of Employment Security estimates as many as 15,000 workers may be left temporarily jobless by the flooding.

Workers in the following counties are eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance: Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, DeSoto, Jefferson, Humphreys, Issaquena, Sharkey, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Wilkinson and Yazoo. Workers whose jobs have been affected by floods in these counties have until June 11, 2011 to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

Applicants can apply by phoning 888-844-3577 or 601- 855-3133 to apply for DUA.  Hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.  Applicants can also apply online at the Mississippi Department of Employment Security

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:20