Main Content

13 Disaster Recovery Centers Now Open In Mississippi

Release date: 
May 14, 2011
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- A state and federal Disaster Recovery Center is open until Sunday evening in Corinth in Alcorn County.  The centers are open to help people whose homes or businesses were affected by recent river flooding, storms and tornadoes.  

The center opened Friday, May 13, and will close Sunday evening May 15.  The center will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.  Survivors can visit any of the Disaster Recovery Centers in 12 other counties.  The center locations can be found online at

The Corinth center is located at the Crossroads Arena, 2800 Levee Rd.

All other centers are open seven days a week from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. with the exception of the center in Water Valley, which has shortened hours of 1 p.m.-5 p.m. on Sunday.  Beginning Monday, hours will be 9 a.m.-7p.m., and centers will close Sundays.  Additional recovery centers will open in other counties in the near future for survivors who suffered losses from storms, tornadoes and flooding.

Twenty-nine counties were designated for individual assistance from the storms, tornadoes and related flooding that occurred April 15-28.  A second declaration was issued May 11 and provided for assistance to residents in 14 counties affected by the Mississippi River flooding.  Three of the counties – Coahoma, DeSoto and Tunica -- were named in both declarations.

Counties currently designated for assistance to individuals are: Adams, Alcorn, Attala, Bolivar, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Claiborne, Clay, Coahoma, DeSoto, Greene, Grenada, Hinds, Humphreys, Holmes, Issaquena, Jasper, Jefferson, Kemper, Lafayette, Leflore, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Newton, Panola, Quitman, Sharkey, Smith, Sunflower, Tishomingo, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Webster Wilkinson, Winston and Yazoo.

Emergency management experts from the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency, Federal Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Small Business Administration and other agencies will staff the centers to explain disaster assistance programs. Before visiting a center, people with storm-related losses should register with FEMA by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or online at Help is available in most languages. Those with speech or hearing impairment can call (TTY) 800-462-7585.

Persons affected by the storms also can apply for federal assistance through a web-enabled mobile device or smartphone. Visit and follow the link to apply online for federal assistance and other recovery help.

Disaster Recovery Centers currently providing assistance

Alcorn County
Crossroads Arena
2800 Levee Rd.
Corinth, MS 38834

Hinds County
Golden Keys Community Cntr.
3450 Albemarle Rd.
Jackson, MS 39213

Lafayette County
Anchor Baptist Church
1009 Hwy. 7 South
Water Valley, MS 38965

Tunica County
Dundee Community Center
9140 Dundee Rd.
Dundee, MS 38626

Chickasaw County
Houston Civic Center
635 Starkville Rd.
Houston, MS 38851

Hinds County
Clinton Public Works Facilities
527 Spring Ridge Rd.
Clinton, MS 39056

Monroe County
Parham Community Center
60416 Hatley-Detroit Rd.
Amory, MS 38821

Greene County
Leakesville Community Center
1627 Center St.
Leakesville, MS 39451

Clay County
Pheba Voting Precinct
21523 Hwy. 50 West
Pheba, MS 39755

Jasper & Clarke Counties
Enterprise Townha...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: