Main Content

Green County Designated for Federal Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
May 4, 2011
Release Number: 

Downers Grove, Ill. -- Federal disaster funds are now available for Green County to help local governments recover some of the costs associated with snow removal and emergency response to the blizzard that occurred in southern Wisconsin earlier this year.

According to officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the assistance was approved following a review of data gathered by federal and state disaster assistance officials. The declaration is for the response and cleanup to the blizzard and major winter storm that occurred Jan. 31 - Feb. 3, 2011.

Affected state, county and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in Green County are now eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved costs for emergency response and snow removal efforts. The State will also provide 12 ½ percent and the applicant will pay the remainder. This assistance is only for local and state agencies, not for individuals or private businesses.    

 Wisconsin Emergency Management will contact local officials in Green County to provide information about the Public Assistance application process.  The addition of Green County brings the total number of counties designated for federal disaster assistance to 11. The original 10 counties designated under the major disaster declaration issued by the president on April 5, 2011 are Dane, Dodge, Grant, Iowa, Kenosha, Lafayette, Milwaukee, Racine, Walworth and Washington.

Follow FEMA online at,,, and  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at  The social media links provided are for reference only.

FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications. 

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.                      

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: