Main Content

Federal Emergency Declaration Expanded to Include Ransom County

Release date: 
April 15, 2011
Release Number: 

Bismarck, N.D. - The Federal Emergency Declaration that was issued by President Obama on April 7 has been expanded to include Ransom County. 

"We realize the impact flooding is having on Ransom County," said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Willie Nunn. "This declaration allows the federal government to provide life-saving and life-sustaining resources where needs are identified by state and local officials."

Under the declaration FEMA directs federal assets to provide assistance based on requests from the state.  Numerous federal agencies are involved in functions ranging from search and rescue operations to law enforcement to interoperable communications.

The emergency declaration now includes a total of nine North Dakota counties: Barnes, Cass, Grand Forks, Pembina, Ransom, Richland, Traill, Walsh and Ward.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

The North Dakota Department of Emergency Services provides 24/7 emergency communications and resource coordination with more than 50 lead and support agencies, private enterprise, and voluntary organizations to assist local jurisdictions in disaster and emergency response activities. It administers federal disaster recovery programs and the Homeland Security Grant Program.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:53
State/Tribal Government or Region: