Major Disaster Declaration For Six New Mexico Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
March 28, 2011
Release Number: 

DENTON, Texas -- A severe February winter storm left its mark on six New Mexico counties, making them eligible to receive federal funding for infrastructure repairs and reimbursement for emergency costs, according to officials with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the New Mexico Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHSEM). 

Under the disaster declaration, signed by President Obama on March 24, Public Assistance (PA) is available to state agencies, local governments, tribal nations and certain private nonprofit organizations in Lincoln, Otero, Rio Arriba, Sierra, Socorro and Taos counties and the tribal jurisdictions of the Mescalero Apache Tribe, Santa Ana Pueblo, Taos Pueblo, and the portions of Santa Clara Pueblo that lie entirely within Rio Arriba County. Hazard Mitigation funding is available statewide.

"By assisting local, state and tribal governments and looking for ways to reduce future damages, state and federal disaster assistance has an impact on every individual in these communities," said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Thomas J. McCool.

DHSEM, which administers the Public Assistance program, will schedule briefings with local officials in these counties and affected tribal governments, to provide information on the assistance available and how to apply.

"The state is working closely with our federal partners to assist all applicants through the process in an effort to provide needed recovery funding," said Michael S. Duvall, Cabinet Secretary for DHSEM. 

FEMA reimburses 75 percent of eligible costs.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top