Main Content

Madera, Mariposa Counties Added To Federal Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
March 11, 2011
Release Number: 

Pasadena, Calif. -- On March 3, 2011, at the request of Mike Dayton, the acting Agency Secretary for the California Emergency Management Agency (Cal EMA), Madera and Mariposa counties were added by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), to the 10 original California counties included in President Obama's January 26, 2011, major disaster declaration.  As a result, state and local government agencies, special districts and certain private non-profit (PNP) organizations that provide essential governmental services in these counties may now qualify for state and federal reimbursements of their eligible costs stemming from the severe winter storms, flooding, debris and mud flows that occurred between December 17, 2010, and January 4, 2011.  Previously approved counties include Inyo, Kern, Kings, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Tulare. 

Under the Major Disaster Declaration, FEMA is authorized to reimburse state and local governments and qualified PNPs up to 75 percent of the eligible costs associated with the implementation of emergency protective measures, debris removal and the repair and restoration of damaged facilities. Local government agencies are also eligible to apply for an additional 18.75 percent in reimbursements from Cal EMA as the result of the Governor's state of emergency proclamations issued for these counties in December and January. 

In addition, under existing California Disaster Assistance Act emergency regulations, PNPs may also be eligible to apply to Cal EMA for state reimbursement of costs related to providing food, water, shelter and other essential community services provided at the request of the state or a local agency.

Under current law, applicant agencies are responsible for costs not covered by FEMA and Cal EMA.

"Helping public agencies and private non-profits maximize the federal and state disaster assistance available to them is a priority of FEMA and Cal EMA," said Federal Coordinating Officer Sandy Coachman of FEMA and State Coordinating Officer Mike Dayton of Cal EMA in a joint statement.   "The combination of federal and state reimbursements will help eligible agencies in Madera, Mariposa and the other 10 previously declared counties save thousands of dollars."

State and local agencies, as well as private non-profit organizations, in Madera and Mariposa counties must submit a Request for Public Assistance to FEMA via Cal EMA by March 31, 2011.  The application deadline for the original 10 counties was February 24, 2011.    

Additional information and applications for funding from FEMA and Cal EMA are available by contacting Cal EMA at 626-431-3257.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

The California Emergency Management Agency (Cal EMA) coordinates overall state agency preparedness for, response to and recovery from major disasters.  Cal EMA also maintains the State Emergency Plan, which outlines the organizational structure for state management of the response to natural and manmade disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: