Main Content

Federal Flood Assistance Nears $200 Million

Release date: 
September 24, 2010
Release Number: 

DOWNERS GROVE, Ill. -- The federal government has approved nearly $200 million in disaster assistance grants for Illinois residents recovering from the severe storms and flooding July 19 - Aug. 7. The deadline for applying for federal disaster assistance is Oct. 18, 2010.

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)  and the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) work hand-in-hand to provide disaster recovery assistance to homeowners, renters, and business owners in the seven counties designated for Individual Assistance — Carroll, Cook, DuPage, Jo Daviess, Ogle, Stephenson, and Winnebago.

The following summarizes the ongoing individual assistance disaster operation as of close of business Sept. 23:

  • 99,633 Illinois residents have applied for assistance. Nearly 8 percent of those applications were made online;
  • $198,493,128 in disaster assistance grants have been approved for temporary housing, home repairs and replacement of essential household items not covered by insurance; Disaster grant assistance by county is as follows:
    • Carroll County: 160 applicants ($746,269 in grants approved)
    • Cook County: 95,039 applicants ($188,871,819)
    • DuPage County:  2,248 applicants ($5,146,221)
    • Jo Daviess County: 127 applicants ($224,576)
    • Ogle County: 91 applicants ($242,874)
    • Stephenson: 1,450 applicants ($2,996,818)
    • Winnebago: 166 applicants ($264,548)
  • $16,450,700  has been approved in low-interest disaster loans by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA);
  • 67,307 SBA applications have been distributed and 4,570 have been returned to SBA. Completing the SBA application is an essential part of the process of applying for FEMA disaster grants;
  • 94,478 damage inspections have been completed; 192 inspectors remain in the field;
  • 38 FEMA Community Relations specialists are canvassing impacted communities, providing information on disaster programs, making referrals, and encouraging people to apply; and
  • 9,127 individuals have visited the five Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) to date.

Five DRCs are now open Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Services at the Disaster Recovery Centers include help with applying for disaster assistance and finding out about other disaster programs available from the SBA, state and local agencies, and voluntary organizations. Residents must apply with FEMA even if they already provided damage information to local officials, other agencies or organizations.

Disaster Recovery Center locations are:

Chicago State University, Emil and Patricia Jones Convocation Center,
9501 S. Dr. Martin Luther King Drive, Chicago, IL 60628
(Campus car access at south Dr. Martin Luther King Drive and East 99th Place),

Stephenson County Highway Administration Building, 295 West Lamm Road,
Freeport, IL 61032 (near County Road 12/South Walnut Avenue)

Cicero Public Safety Building, 5410 West 34th St., Cicero, IL 60804

St. Joseph High School, 1840 Mayfair Ave., Westchester, IL 60154
(West entrance via Oxford Street)

Austin Area, (Former Old Navy building),Washington Square
4905 West North Ave.,  Chicago, IL 60639

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:40
State/Tribal Government or Region: