Main Content

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available In Six Kentucky Counties

Release date: 
August 21, 2010
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Residents in six Kentucky counties who lost work or whose businesses were damaged due to the July severe storms, flooding and mudslides, may be eligible for federal disaster unemployment assistance.

The deadlines to apply are:

August 27
Pike County

September 10
Carter County
Lewis County

September 16
Madison County
Mason County
Rowan County

“This is not regular unemployment compensation, but a program to help people who lost their jobs or cannot work because of the disaster,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Terry L. Quarles, the FEMA official in charge of the Kentucky disaster recovery.

While the program is federally funded, it is administered by the Kentucky Office of Employment and Training (OET), an agency of the Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet.

To file a claim individuals should visit the Kentucky OET in the county nearest them. For locations visit

Farmers and self-employed individuals, who are normally not eligible for unemployment benefits, may qualify for disaster unemployment assistance.

When filing a claim, self-employed people should bring a copy of their 2009 income tax return. Other applicants need only a photo-identification card and their Social Security number.

Additional information, photos and links for this and other open disasters can be found at and

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:43
State/Tribal Government or Region: