Main Content

Kentucky Disaster Assistance Expands To 3 More Counties

Release date: 
August 12, 2010
Release Number: 

Lexington, Ky. -- Federal Emergency Management Agency officials today announced the addition of Madison, Mason and Rowan counties to the disaster declaration for July’s severe storms, flooding and mudslides.

 “These counties are still recovering from damage caused by the July floods. I appreciate FEMA getting them the assistance they need,” Gov. Steve Beshear said.

Residents in these counties can now register for Individual Assistance, which can include grants for homeowners and renters to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are available to homeowners, renters, nonprofit organizations and businesses of all sizes.


Local governments in Madison County are now eligible to apply for funding under FEMA’s Public Assistance program to pay for emergency measures, debris removal and to repair and replace infrastructure damaged by the storms.

Eight Kentucky counties are now eligible for some type of federal disaster assistance from FEMA for the July flooding: Carter, Lewis, Madison and Pike for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance; Mason and Rowan for Individual Assistance only; and Elliott and Shelby for Public Assistance only. 

Homeowners and renters in Carter, Lewis, Madison, Mason, Pike and Rowan counties should register with FEMA as soon as possible online at or by calling toll-free
800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585.

Additional information, photos and links for this and other open disasters can be found at and

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:39
State/Tribal Government or Region: