Main Content

Page County Designated Eligible To Receive Snow Disaster Assistance For Infrastructure

Release date: 
July 13, 2010
Release Number: 

RICHMOND, VA. -- The Virginia Department of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced Page County is designated eligible for Public Assistance for the February 5-11, 2010, severe winter storms and snowstorms. 

The Commonwealth of Virginia became a presidentially declared disaster area on April 27, 2010. Counties previously designated include Albemarle, Appomattox, Arlington, Augusta, Buckingham, Caroline, Clarke, Craig, Culpeper, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Frederick, Greene, Highland, King George, Loudoun, Louisa, Madison, Nelson, Orange, Prince William, Rappahannock, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Tazewell and Warren, and the Independent Cities of Alexandria,  Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, Waynesboro and Winchester. There are now 38 designated jurisdictions under the declaration.

Eligible applicants include the Commonwealth, local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations.  The funds are available on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities, including emergency protective measures (Category B) snow assistance for designated localities. 

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:42
State/Tribal Government or Region: