Main Content

The City Of Buena Vista Designated Eligible To Receive Snow Disaster Aid For Infrastructure

Release date: 
July 9, 2010
Release Number: 

RICHMOND, VA. -- The Virginia Department of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced the City of Buena Vista is designated eligible for Public Assistance for the December 18 – 20, 2009, severe winter storm and snowstorm. 

The Commonwealth of Virginia became a presidentially declared disaster area on February 16, 2010. Counties previously designated include Albemarle, Alleghany, Amherst, Arlington, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Botetourt, Buchanan, Caroline, Craig, Culpeper, Dickenson, Fairfax, Grayson, Greene, Hanover, Highland, King George, Lee, Louisa, Madison, Montgomery, Nelson, Orange, Page, Prince William, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Russell, Scott, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Tazewell and Wise Counties and the Independent Cities of Alexandria, Charlottesville, Covington, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Galax, Manassas, Manassas Park, Norton, Radford, Roanoke, Staunton, and Waynesboro. There are now 50 eligible jurisdictions under the declaration.

Eligible applicants include the Commonwealth, local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations.    

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.   

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:42
State/Tribal Government or Region: