Main Content

Two Virginia Counties To Receive Certain Types Of Infrastructure Disaster Aid

Release date: 
June 21, 2010
Release Number: 

RICHMOND, Va. -- The Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced two additional counties have been designated as eligible for certain types of Public Assistance (PA) for the December 18 – 20, 2010, severe winter storm and snowstorm.  Culpeper County was designated earlier for Public Assistance (PA) and will now also receive snow assistance.  King George County is eligible for all categories of PA including snow assistance. 

The Commonwealth of Virginia became a presidentially declared disaster area on February 16, 2010. Counties previously designated include Albemarle, Alleghany, Amherst, Arlington, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Botetourt, Buchanan, Caroline, Craig, Culpeper, Dickenson, Fairfax, Grayson, Greene, Hanover, Highland, Lee, Louisa, Madison, Montgomery, Nelson, Orange, Page, Prince William, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Russell, Scott, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Tazewell and Wise Counties and the Independent Cities of Alexandria, Charlottesville, Covington, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Galax, Manassas, Manassas Park, Norton, Radford, Roanoke, Staunton, and Waynesboro. There are now 49 eligible jurisdictions under the declaration.

Eligible applicants include the State, local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations.    

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:23