Main Content

Only Three Weeks Left To Register For Federal Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
June 9, 2010
Release Number: 

HUNTSVILLE, Ala. -- Friday, July 2, is the deadline for people in DeKalb, Marshall and Walker counties who sustained damage from the late April severe storms and tornadoes to apply for Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) disaster assistance. Registration is required before assistance can be awarded.

The deadline to return a loan application with the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is also July 2. SBA loans are the largest source of disaster funds to repair or replace damaged or destroyed personal property or for making substantial repairs or rebuilding damaged structures to their pre-disaster condition. The low-interest disaster loans are available to homeowners, renters, and businesses of all sizes.

The registration deadline is midnight July 2.

Individuals can apply for assistance, ask questions or check on the status of an application by dialing FEMA's Helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585. The toll-free numbers are available seven days a week, 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. CST. Help in all languages is available.

Online registration is available at

Only residents of DeKalb, Marshall and Walker counties are eligible to apply for disaster assistance.

The Alabama Emergency Management Agency is Alabama's coordinating agency for disaster preparedness, response and recovery. Learn more at and follow the agency on Twitter (@AlabamaEMA).

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: