Main Content

Garvin And Creek Counties Added To Oklahoma Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
May 28, 2010
Release Number: 

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- Federal disaster assistance has been extended to Oklahomans in Garvin and Creek counties as a result of the severe storms, tornadoes and straight-line winds that occurred May 10-13, the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

Garvin and Creek join Carter, Cleveland, McIntosh, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie and Seminole counties under the disaster declaration signed by President Obama on May 24. The declaration makes federal funding available to affected individuals in those counties. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the storms and tornadoes.

Federal Coordinating Officer Gregory W. Eaton said the assistance was approved based on a review of damage data gathered by FEMA, OEM and local officials in the affected counties.

"We urge Oklahomans in Garvin and Creek counties to register with FEMA as soon as possible so we can determine how we or our other state and federal partners may help them recover," Eaton said.

Oklahomans in any of the nine counties currently under the disaster declaration should register with FEMA online at or by phone at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for those with hearing or speech impairments.

For more information on Oklahoma disaster recoveries, visit or 

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:23