Main Content

Returning Low-Interest Sba Loan Applications Key In Recovery Efforts In Dekalb, Marshall And Walker Counties

Release date: 
May 14, 2010
Release Number: 

HUNTSVILLE, Ala. -- The Alabama Emergency Management Agency (AEMA) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) urge homeowners, renters and businesses affected by the late April storms and tornadoes in DeKalb, Marshall and Walker counties to complete and return their Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loan applications as soon as possible.

The SBA loan application process is a critical part of recovery. SBA loans are available for damages to real estate, personal property, including vehicles, and business contents.

For more information about low-interest SBA disaster loans, call 800-659-2955 or visit the SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Center (DLOC) at the Fyffe Senior Center. Applicants may visit the center for help with the application process. Bilingual assistance is available. The center will be open Thursday, May 13, Friday, May 14 and Monday, May 17. Business hours are 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Applicants can also seek SBA disaster loan assistance at one of three AEMA/FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC) in DeKalb, Marshall and Walker counties, where bilingual assistance and use of phones for registration is available.

Anyone not able to go to a DRC or DLOC should call the SBA Customer Service Center from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. CDT Monday through Friday and Saturday 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CDT, toll-free at

800-659-2955 or TTY 800-462-7585 for information and assistance, or visit the SBA website at or send an email to

Disaster-affected residents may fill out a loan application online by visiting SBA’s secure website at

Before applying for a SBA loan, register with FEMA by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 800-462-7585 for the speech-or hearing-impaired. The toll-free numbers are staffed every day from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Online registration is available at


DeKalb County SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Center
Fyffe Senior Center
413 Graves Street
Fyffe, AL 35971

DeKalb County Disaster Recovery Center
Mount Vernon Baptist Church
4370 County Rd. 822
Collinsville, AL 35961

Marshall County Disaster Recovery Center
Albertville Neighborhood Facility Center
915 W. McKinney Ave.
Albertville, AL 35950

Walker County Disaster Recovery Center
Parrish Church of the Nazarene
1436 New Parrish Highway
Parrish, AL 35580

The Alabama Emergency Management Agency is Alabama's coordinating agency for disaster preparedness, response and recovery. Learn more at and follow the agency on Twitter (@AlabamaEMA).

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:40
State/Tribal Government or Region: