Main Content

Public Assistance Briefings Set For Local Officials

Release date: 
May 3, 2010
Release Number: 


BLOOMINGTON, Minn.  -- State disaster officials will hold applicant briefings to help representatives from state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in 18 Minnesota counties apply for federal disaster assistance in the wake of the spring flooding.

Officials will explain the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Public Assistance (Infrastructure) program for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration or replacement of public facilities or infrastructure that were damaged during the flooding from March 1 through April 26, 2010. Under the cost-share program, FEMA Public Assistance funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work.


The meetings will be held at the following locations, dates and times, according to officials from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) and FEMA.

Tuesday, May 4, 2010 – 1 p.m. (Scott, Carver and Sibley Counties)
Scott County Law Enforcement Center, 301 Fuller St. South, Shakopee, Minn.

Wednesday, May 5, 2010 – 8:30 a.m. (Ramsey County)
State Emergency Operations Center, Saint Paul, Minn.

Wednesday, May 5, 2010 – 3 p.m. (Clay and Wilkin Counties)
Clay County Courthouse, 3rd Floor CB Room, 807 11th Street North, Moorhead, Minn.

 Thursday, May 6, 2010 – 9:30 a.m.  (Marshall and Kittson Counties)
Marshall County Courthouse-Basement, 208 E. Colvin Avenue, Warren, Minn. 

Thursday, May 6, 2010 – 2 p.m. (Norman County)
Norman County Environmental Service, 816 E. Main Street, Ada, Minn.

Friday, May 7, 2010 – 9 a.m.  (Polk, Red Lake and Pennington Counties)
University of Minnesota-Crookston, Kiehle Auditorium, Crookston, Minn.

Friday, May 7, 2010 – 2:30 p.m.  (Stevens, Traverse, and Big Stone Counties)
American Legion, 507 Pacific Avenue, Morris, Minn. 

Monday, May 10, 2010 – 10 a.m. (McLeod County)
McLeod County Courthouse, 830 11th Street East, Glencoe, Minn.

Monday, May 10, 2010 – 2 p.m.  (Blue Earth and Brown Counties)
Blue Earth County Justice Center, 401 Carver Road, Mankato, Minn.

Tuesday, May 11, 2010 – 10 a.m.  (Cottonwood County)
Cottonwood County Law Enforcement Center, 902 5th Avenue, Basement, Windom, Minn.

Tuesday, May 11, 2010 – 2 p.m.  (Redwood and Renville Counties)
Redwood County Courthouse – Basement Meeting Room, 250 S. Jefferson Street, Redwood Falls, Minn.

Wednesday, May 12, 2010 – 10 a.m. (Chippewa, Lac Qui Parle, and Yellow Medicine Counties)
Chippewa County Courthouse Assembly Room – Lower Level, 629 N. 11th St., Montevideo, Minn.

The 18 counties and one tribal community designated in the April 19 declaration are Big Stone, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Chippewa, Clay, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Marshall, Norman, Polk, Redwood, Renville, Scott, Sibley, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine counties and the Upper Sioux Community.

On April 29, Governor Pawlenty requested six counties and a tribal nation be added to the major disaster declaration. The counties requested include Cottonwood, McLeod, Pennington, Ramsey, Red Lake and Stevens, as well as the Prairie Island Indian Community. An additional $3.1 million in costs and damages were discovered during preliminary damage assessments held earlier this week. A final decision on the request has not been announced at this time.

The S...

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:47
State/Tribal Government or Region: