Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster For The State Of South Dakota

Release date: 
March 9, 2010
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of South Dakota to supplement recovery efforts in the areas struck by a severe winter storm and snowstorm during the period of December 23-27, 2009

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local and tribal governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm and snowstorm in the counties of Campbell, Clay, Gregory, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Perkins, Shannon, Todd, Tripp, Turner, and Yankton and the portions of the Pine Ridge Reservation and Rosebud Reservation that lie within the designated counties.

In addition, assistance is available to the State and eligible local and tribal governments on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures, including snow assistance, for a continuous 48-hour period during or proximate to the incident period.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and Tribes within the State.

Nancy M. Casper has been named as the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Casper said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:41
State/Tribal Government or Region: