Main Content

Disaster Briefings Set For Local Government Officials

Release date: 
July 9, 2009
Release Number: 

MARION, Ill. -- State disaster officials will hold three briefings to help representatives from state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in six Illinois counties apply for federal disaster assistance in the wake of May's severe storms.

The briefings will provide information about the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Public Assistance (Infrastructure) program for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration or replacement of public facilities or infrastructure that were damaged during the severe storms, flooding and tornadoes on May 8 and 9. Under the cost-share program, FEMA Public Assistance funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work.

The meetings will be held at the following locations, dates and times, according to officials from the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) and FEMA.

Gallatin and Saline counties
Tuesday, July 14, 2:30 p.m.
Southeastern Illinois College
Student Center, PDR Room
3575 College Road, Harrisburg

Jackson and Randolph counties
Wednesday, July 15, 9:30 a.m.
Davis-McCann Center
15 North 14th Street, Murphysboro

Franklin and Williamson counties
Wednesday, July 15, 1:30 p.m.
John A. Logan College
Workforce Education Building, Room H127
700 Logan College Road, Carterville

The six counties designated in the July 2 declaration are Franklin, Gallatin, Jackson, Randolph, Saline and Williamson.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:42
State/Tribal Government or Region: