Main Content

Disaster Survivors Encouraged to Register With FEMA

Release date: 
June 21, 2009
Release Number: 

ANCHORAGE, Alaska -- Alaska Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHS&EM) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials encourage any individuals who suffered damages to their primary residence or to their personal property during the recent flooding and ice jams to register with FEMA.

On June 11, 2009 the President declared a disaster designation for the State of Alaska to address damages from the spring flooding and ice jams. Individual Assistance is available for residents of the Alaska Gateway Regional Educational Attendance Area (REAA), the Kuspuk REAA, the Yukon Flats REAA, and the Yukon-Koyukuk REAA. Additional designations may be made at a later date after further evaluation.

Teams from DHS&EM and FEMA began village registrations Monday, June 15 and the teams will soon complete their visits to affected villages in the designated REAAs. Many individuals have completed their applications with the visiting teams. Applicants have already begun receiving assistance and more grants are being processed.

Individuals who did not apply while teams were in their village have until August 10, 2009 to register for federal-state assistance. Individuals should call the FEMA toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY), between 3 a.m. and 9 p.m. local time, seven days a week. Individuals can also register on-line at Individual Assistance staff at Alaska's Joint Field Office encourages applicants to call the Alaska help line, 1-877-444-0829, with any questions about federal assistance. The Alaska help-line is available 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

"The first step in obtaining federal assistance for this disaster is to call the registration number or register on-line," said Federal Coordinating Officer Doug Mayne.

"We want to hear from anyone living in the designated areas and who was affected by the flooding or ice jams," said Bob Stewart the State Coordinating Officer for Alaska.

Individual Assistance includes grants for temporary housing if the primary residence is uninsured or underinsured and uninhabitable, and for home repairs to make the dwelling "safe, sanitary and functional." Grants are also available for replacement of essential, uninsured or underinsured household items.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: