Main Content

Federal Disaster Aid To New York For Ice Storm Tops $11 Million

Release date: 
June 11, 2009
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) awarded another $9 million in the latest round of federal disaster funding to nine New York counties that suffered damages from the December 2008 ice storm. The total aid to date is now more than $11 million.

The New York State Emergency Management Office (SEMO) and FEMA provide the following summary of assistance approved as of June 10, 2009:

  • Albany County - $1,378,762
  • Columbia County - $1,171,821
  • Delaware County - $1,299,664
  • Greene County - $735,240
  • Rensselaer County - $618,899
  • Saratoga County - $2,646,436
  • Schenectady County - $1,615,355
  • Schoharie County - $801,662
  • Washington County - $749,914
  • Statewide - $160,193

President Obama, at the request of Governor David A. Paterson, signed a major disaster declaration for New York on March 4, 2009. The declaration activated the FEMA Public Assistance program, which funds 75 percent of eligible emergency costs for debris removal, emergency services and permanent work to repair damaged infrastructure.

New York State and applicants share the remaining 25 percent. State agencies, municipalities and certain private nonprofit organizations in the nine designated counties may apply for the assistance.

FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Marianne C. Jackson oversees the federal operations. SEMO, headed by John R. Gibb, manages the Public Assistance program and works directly with applicants in the nine counties.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: