Main Content

Less Than Three Weeks Left To Apply For Federal Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
May 20, 2009
Release Number: 

MOORHEAD, Minn. -- Minnesota residents in Beltrami, Clay, Marshall, Norman, Polk, Traverse and Wilkin counties who had damage from recent floods need to apply for federal disaster assistance by Tuesday, June 9.

There are two easy ways to apply. Residents can call the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free or apply online.

Homeowners, renters, and business owners can call toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) (TTY 1-800-462-7585). The telephone numbers operate from 6 a.m. to midnight CDT seven days a week, until further notice. To apply online, go to Online registration is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

When applying for help, have the following information available:

  • Current telephone number,
  • Address of the damaged property and the address where you now are staying,
  • Social Security number, if available,
  • A general list of damages and losses,
  • If insured, the name of insurance company or agent and policy number,
  • General financial information,
  • Bank account coding to speed up assistance with direct deposit.

Even residents who filled out damage reports with state, county or voluntary agencies, must apply with FEMA to be considered for federal assistance.

By applying, applicants may be considered for assistance from FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). FEMA assistance could include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious, necessary disaster-related expenses. These other expenses could include damaged personal property, medical and dental expenses.

Low-interest disaster loans from the SBA are available to cover residential (both renters and homeowners) property damage. Their business loans cover property and economic losses not fully compensated by insurance. Simply filling out and returning the SBA application may make other FEMA assistance available to some applicants.

Residents should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. FEMA does not duplicate insurance payments or pay deductibles. Applicants may be eligible, however, for assistance with serious, necessary expenses not covered by insurance.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters. 

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:26