Main Content

FEMA Public Assistance Grants Help Rebuild Communities

Release date: 
March 27, 2009
Release Number: 

FEMA Public Assistance Grant programs provide assistance to eligible private nonprofit organizations, in addition to eligible local, county, state, and municipal governments for approved disaster-related costs.

These grants are available to rebuild important buildings, equipment, and infrastructure that was damaged or destroyed during the severe winter storms, record and near record snowfall, landslides, and mudslides, which occurred in Oregon from December 20 - 26, 2008.

Examples of eligible private nonprofit organizations might include: utilities, health care facilities, private schools, and more. If you do not know if your private nonprofit is eligible for FEMA Public Assistance grants contact your County Emergency Manager to see if you qualify.

The deadline dates to apply for FEMA Public Assistance Grants in your county are listed below:

April 01, 2009
Clatsop, Columbia, Clackamas, Hood River, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, and Yamhill

April 13, 2009
Washington County

April 18, 2009
Tillamook County

State Coordinating Officer Abby Kershaw and FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Dolph Diemont are reminding all eligible applicants from the approved counties to mark their calendars to insure they don't miss the opportunity to receive the assistance that is available.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: