Main Content

Washington Residents Receive Almost $10 Million In Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
March 13, 2009
Release Number: 

OLYMPIA, Wash. -- Almost $10 million in federal disaster assistance has gone to Washington residents since the Presidential disaster declaration was issued on January 30, 2009, to help those affected by the January 6-16, 2009 severe winter storm, landslides, mudslides and flooding. There are 3,465 homeowners and renters who have applied for disaster assistance, and inspectors have visited 2,754 homes. Grants awarded to date total $7,088,295 which includes:

  • $6,424,306 in housing assistance to cover temporary rental assistance, home repairs and replacement
  • $ 663,989 in other needs assistance to cover essential personal property losses, medical, dental, funeral, transportation or serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance

In addition, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has awarded $2,786,500 in low-interest disaster loans to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance or other compensation, bringing the total of disaster assistance so far to $9,875,795.

While all FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) are now closed, people are still encouraged to apply at 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) (TTY 1-800-462-7585) from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., seven days a week, or to register online at The deadline to register for disaster assistance is March 31, less than a month away.

Additionally, two SBA Disaster Loan Recovery Centers (DLOCS) remain open and are set up to assist applicants with SBA loan applications. These centers transitioned from Disaster Recovery Centers.

They are:

Puyallup DLOC
Community Resource Center
107 N. Meridian (corner of E. Main and N. Meridian)
Puyallup, WA 98371
Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.

Longview DLOC
Cowlitz Co. Training Center (The Boat House)
1942 First Avenue
Longview, WA 98632
Hours: Wednesday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.

People who have received SBA applications are strongly urged to complete and immediately return their SBA applications. Even if they do not want a loan, submitting a loan application is a requirement for further disaster assistance.?

Residents of the following designated counties are eligible to apply: Benton, Cowlitz, Clallam, Grays Harbor, King, Kittitas, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, Skagit, Snohomish, Thurston, Wahkiakum and Whatcom. The deadline for all applications is March 31, 2009.? They can register by calling, toll-free, ??1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) (TTY 1-800-462-7585) from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. seven days a week, or registering online at ?

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: