Main Content

Public Assistance Expanded in New Hampshire to Five Counties

Release date: 
August 20, 2008
Release Number: 

TILTON, N.H. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced it is expanding disaster assistance to two additional New Hampshire counties to help pay for repair, restoration, reconstruction or replacement of public facilities, roads and bridges, water facilities and other infrastructure damaged or destroyed by severe storms, tornado, and flooding that occurred on July 24, 2008.

Merrimack and Strafford counties have been added to the major disaster declaration by President Bush on August 11, which provided assistance to the counties of Belkap, Carroll and Rockingham.

Under the Public Assistance program local governments in the designated counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

"Ensuring that vital public services are restored as quickly as possible is part of FEMA's mission to help New Hampshire achieve a lasting recovery," said Phil Parr, federal coordinating officer.

A series of applicant briefings for local officials will be held where procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained by FEMA and state officials.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: