Main Content

Local Governments Must Apply by Aug. 8, 2008 for Federal Disaster Aid

Release date: 
July 31, 2008
Release Number: 

TOPEKA, Kan. -- Local and tribal governments that provide essential government services have until Friday, August 8, 2008, to apply for federal-state disaster grants for eligible damages from the May 22 to June 16 spate of severe storms, flooding and tornadoes.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM) are partnering to help communities in 46 Kansas counties pay for debris removal, emergency services and other eligible work necessitated by the storm.

Disaster assistance also may be provided to repair, restore or replace facilities owned by certain private non-profit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential governmental service facilities available to the public.

Under a July 9 Presidential disaster declaration, FEMA's Public Assistance program pays 75 percent of eligible costs. The State of Kansas is paying 10 percent, with the local applicant responsible for the remaining 15 percent.

Any government entity official who may have eligible damages should contact their county emergency management official to complete a request for public assistance form. To date, 203 applicants have submitted requests for public assistance including state agencies, local governments and private nonprofits. 

FEMA's Public Assistance program was authorized in 46 Kansas counties by the July 9, presidential disaster declaration. The counties are Barber, Bourbon, Brown, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Decatur, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellis, Franklin, Gove, Graham, Harper, Hodgeman, Jackson, Jewell, Kiowa, Linn, Logan, Mitchell, Montgomery, Ness, Norton, Osborne, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Republic, Riley, Rooks, Rush, Saline, Seward, Sheridan, Smith, Stafford, Sumner, Thomas, Trego, and Wallace.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: