Main Content

One Week Remains For Georgians To Register For Federal Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
July 15, 2008
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Individuals and business owners in the 10 disaster-declared counties who sustained damage from the severe storms and tornadoes of May 11-12 have only one week to apply for disaster assistance. The counties are Bibb, Carroll, Douglas, Emanuel, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, McIntosh and Twiggs.

Tuesday, July 22, is the last day applications will be taken for individual assistance, according to the Georgia Emergency Management Agency (GEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). More than 5,000 Georgians affected by the storms and tornadoes have applied for disaster assistance.

FEMA's toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362), is open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. seven days a week. Those who are speech- or hearing-impaired should call TTY 800-462-7585. Applicants also can register online anytime at

July 22 is also the deadline to submit loan applications to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for homeowners, renters, businesses of any size and nonprofit organizations. While no one is required to take out an SBA loan, applications are a key part of the FEMA registration process.

If you are a homeowner or renter and SBA determines you cannot afford a loan, you may be referred to FEMA for other eligible assistance. Additional information is available at or by calling 800-659-2955.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:30
State/Tribal Government or Region: