Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster For South Dakota

Release date: 
July 9, 2008
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for South Dakota to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding during the period of June 2-12, 2008.

FEMA Administrator David Paulison said federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding in the counties of Aurora, Bon Homme, Brule, Buffalo, Butte, Charles Mix, Clay, Dewey, Douglas, Gregory, Haakon, Hand, Hanson, Hughes, Hutchinson, Jackson, Lawrence, Lyman, McCook, Meade, Mellette, Moody, Perkins, Stanley, Tripp, Turner, and Ziebach and the portions of the Cheyenne River Reservation, the Crow Creek Reservation, and the Lower Brule Reservation that lie within the designated counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

Paulison named Tony Russell the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Russell said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:30
State/Tribal Government or Region: