Main Content

Public Assistance Approved for Penobscot County

Release date: 
May 23, 2008
Release Number: 

AUGUSTA, Maine - The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has designated Penobscot County eligible to apply for federal aid as a result of floods that occurred April 28 through May 14. Penobscot is the seventh Maine County eligible for federal aid through the Public Assistance program. This aid is in addition to the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on May 9, which made the Individuals and Households program available to Penobscot County residents on May 16.

Under the Public Assistance program local governments in Penobscot County are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency protective measures related to the disaster, and the repair or replacement of damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

The seven counties eligible for public assistance are Aroostook, Knox, Lincoln, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset and Waldo.

An applicants' briefing for local officials will be held where procedures for requesting assistance will be explained by MEMA and FEMA officials.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: