Main Content

One Week Left To Register For Flood Aid In Missouri

Release date: 
May 19, 2008
Release Number: 

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- Those affected by the severe storms and flooding in mid-March have one week left to register for federal assistance.

Families, individuals and businesses in the 35 Missouri counties that were declared eligible for federal assistance have until May 27 to register. Damages must have occurred during the period March 17 - May 9.

Individual Assistance was approved for the following counties: Bollinger, Butler, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Christian, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Howard, Iron, Jasper, Jefferson, Laclede, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, St. Francois, St. Louis, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, Texas, Washington, Wayne, and Webster.

Register by calling toll-free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) (TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- and hearing-impaired) from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday. Online, register at, 24 hours a day.

May 27 is also the deadline to submit loan applications to the U.S. Small Business Administration. While no one is required to take out an SBA loan, applications are a key part of the FEMA application process. A loan denial may open up other assistance to eligible applicants.

Registration for FEMA assistance must be done separately from registering for aid from any other organization. Don't let anyone discourage you from registering. Register even if you have insurance and update your file with FEMA after your insurance settlement.

The standard flood insurance policies from FEMA's National Flood Insurance Program have a 60-day period to file proof of loss. That deadline would have been May 16. Policyholders in Missouri have been given an extension to July 15 to file claims with their carriers.

Those with questions about SBA loans are encouraged to visit any SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Center (DLOC) operating Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturday, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m., at the following locations:

Butler County
1018 S. Westwood St., Suite 5
Poplar Bluff, MO 63901

Wayne County
Piedmont City Hall
115 W. Green St.
Piedmont, MO 63957

Cape Girardeau County
Jackson Fire & Rescue Administration
503 S. Hope St.
Jackson, MO 63755

SBA representatives at the DLOCs are able to provide loan applications, answer questions, explain the application process, and help individuals complete their disaster loan applications. For more information, visit

Additional assistance is available at the FEMA/State Disaster Recovery Center at Bethany Presbyterian Church 1930 Virginia Ave., Joplin, MO 64804. The center will remain open until further notice.

To date, FEMA has approved more than $12 million in aid to disaster victims, while the SBA has approved more than $5.23 million in disaster loans to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and nonprofit organizations.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:17
State/Tribal Government or Region: