Main Content

Nearly $3.3 Million in Federal Funds Obligated for Snow Aid

Release date: 
April 30, 2008
Release Number: 

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. -- Federal officials have obligated nearly $3.3 million in snow removal reimbursement funds for the seven counties designated in the Emergency Declaration, which President Bush issued on March 13.

The $3,293,619 in federal funds obligated so far is approximately 80 percent of the projected total federal share of funds to be obligated. The Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) Public Assistance Program pays 75 percent of eligible costs and the applicants are responsible for the remaining 25 percent.

"This unified effort and quick response on the part of the FEMA and State team has resulted in getting the funds to those local government entities whose budgets were hit hard by the record snowfall," said Larry Sommers, FEMA's federal coordinating officer for the declaration.

The seven counties included in the declaration are Boone, Carroll, Jo Daviess, Lake, McHenry, Stephenson and Winnebago. Under the declaration, affected local governments became eligible to apply for federal assistance to supplement state and local response efforts for emergency protective measures, including snow removal assistance to save lives, to protect property and public health and safety over a continuous 48-hour period during or approximate to the Feb. 5-6 incident period

Teams of federal project officers met with local officials representing 275 affected local governments, state agencies and certain private non-profit organizations to examine disaster-related damages and associated costs and to help applicants complete 251 project worksheets (PWs) so far.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:30
State/Tribal Government or Region: