Main Content

Two Additional Counties Approved For Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
April 2, 2008
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Two additional counties affected by the severe storms and flooding of Feb. 5-6 are now eligible for disaster infrastructure assistance, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management (KYEM). 

Harrison and Nicholas County have been added to the Feb. 21, 2008 major disaster declaration.   Eighteen counties including local governments, Indian tribes and certain private non-profit organizations are now eligible for reimbursement of eligible costs under the Public Assistance Program.  Applicants may now be eligible for debris removal costs and expenses for emergency protective measures taken before, during and after the storms to protect public and private property, and for permanent repair to facilities due to the Feb. 5-6 storm.

The initial counties eligible for Public Assistance are: Adair, Allen, Bath, Carlisle, Casey, Estill, Franklin, Grayson, Hardin, Meade, Mercer, Metcalfe, Monroe, Morgan, Muhlenberg, and Shelby.

The Public Assistance Program reimburses local governments, state agencies, and certain private non-profits that provide essential government services with federal funding for 75 percent of eligible costs.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:30
State/Tribal Government or Region: